A Very Virgo New Moon

Organisation, streamlining, controlling waste, data, facts and analysis are just a few themes you may experience this week as the New Moon forms on September 20.

A total of 5 planets will occupy the sign of Virgo, honing in on the less is more mantra that Virgo resonates so well with.

As a sign, Virgo juxtaposes two seemingly opposing characteristics of concreteness and stability (earth) combined with versatility and adaptability (mutable).

Together, this brings a recipe for progress. It’s the ability to get things done, but with a certain flexibility around how to go about it.

This week you might feel motivated to perfect or refine a particular area of your life.

In the Southern Hemisphere, the warmer days are upon us. Making healthier food choices or incorporating more exercise might inspire you.

A good clean out, declutter or doing away with what you don’t need anymore could also be highlighted.
Virgo thrives on efficiency. Whether that is your home, office space or inbox, you may discover changes that can help you improve your productivity and help you feel more organised.

Re-organising your schedule could also be on the cosmic cards, freeing up more time to do the things you want to do. Hiring help or outsourcing is a great way to reduce the monotony, allowing you more time to focus on what really matters to you.

Mercury, the ruler of this New Moon, is also in Virgo, the sign where Mercury can do his best work. Not only is Mercury in Virgo a data collector, there is the additional ability to sort through it, separating the wheat from the chaff, so to speak.

It’s this discerning quality of Virgo that can help you make more authentic choices about what you do and don’t need or want.

As the patron saint of self-improvement, your cosmic invitation this week is to work out a way you can do something better, with more efficiency and accuracy.

Mercury opposes Neptune under this lunation, dampening the dry and analytical qualities promised by this New Moon. This offers us the reminder that sometimes the best ideas come from a place of inspiration and not always being sure where the road will lead, but to put your foot down on the gas anyway.

New Moon 27 Virgo

September 20
Brisbane 3:30pm
Auckland 5:30pm
London 6:30am
New York 1:30am

Scroll to Top

Sign up and receive your free Astrology 101 Guide